I decided to get a full time job and such, but only if it was for something, meant something. That way I have money of my own and do good, a win-win situation.  I am blessed to have insurance, so I have a luxury that most do not, to work basically wherever I want. Shout out to 30 Rock, you know who you are. :]

Anyway, I applied to the ASPCA and ACORN. I found both on Idealist. I knew all about the ASPCA, as my pets’ veterinarian is at Bergh Memorial. ACORN, I didn’t know much about. I remember when I was younger, working at Whole Foods in Chicago, a bunch of people wearing red shirts with ACORN signs and voices filled up the parking lot. They were protesting that Whole Foods needed to join the union and they were super serious about it. They were cool, you know after we blocked the door to the store and said they had to walk through us to get in…then people ended up talking, etc., etc. The thing is back then Whole Foods was not a publicly traded company, so it was cool, none of us ever thought we needed a union, we made bank, awesome benefits, you don’t know. We kids were living the high life. I know some people who still work there or did not too long ago and man they hate it now. I think a lot of Whole Foods employees may think differently now then back when it was about something. I won’t go on, but feel free to learn more here.

The point is I am way behind on my writing after starting the job at ACORN last Monday and having a life that needs to be handled. That is what has been up. I do recognize that I need to do this and not fall behind. Like I said from the beginning, this time I am serious. :]

You’ll see…

-Cara

